1 / 3
Lamp
2 / 3
photinia
3 / 3
red room 2
3 / 3
container for blue space
3 / 3
contortion1
3 / 3
at home
3 / 3
still life receding into glue, white sediment
3 / 3
Third Leg
3 / 3
contortion 3
3 / 3
drawing for lagoon 1, grove
3 / 3
cat elated
3 / 3
porch meditation
3 / 3
bedroom, mom's house
3 / 3
tears
3 / 3
ecstatic pain
3 / 3
lagoon
3 / 3
coffee shop
3 / 3
meditations 1 through 9
3 / 3
drink
3 / 3
offering
3 / 3
Sparkle Bar
3 / 3
meditations 6 through 12
3 / 3
meditations 1 through 6
3 / 3
contortion 2


Inanna

Jessamyn Plotts is an artist and educator currently based in Texas. Her work in painting, drawing, performance and writing explores the boundaries between self, art object and society. Jessamyn considers the the picture plane a simple, experimental frame of reference, in which our most obscure thoughts, experiences and emotions are conatined and delivered as images. She is especially interested in the performative qualities of painting, drawing and writing, and often ponders the inherent radicality of traditional art practices in works that blur the line between image production and social experiment.

Jessamyn's interest in the image and in narrative has led her to closely evaluate constructions of white femininity as they appear in art and pop-culture and to use the fluidity and potential for decomposition in the disciplines of drawing and writing to dissect common tropes. Memoirist Cat Marnell, Lana Del Rey and Miley Cyrus have been subjects of Jessamyn's narrative decompositions, as have the shows Forensic Files and Law and Order SVU. She is particularly interested in the physical destruction of the white girl body through abject sexual experience, drug and alcohol addiction, and sexual violence, and the association of these experiences with white intellectuality in the tradition of Sylvia Plath, Virginia Wolf, Kathy Acker and others.

Observation

Memory and Imagination

Performance

Cat

books and drawing collections

Contact

jessamynplotts@gmail.com

Statements

statements
CV

Recent

New American Paintings: Southwest. New American Paintings

Read about work included in a collective exhibition in Dallas.

To measure rape culture's paramenters, this Dallas artist hopped on a lime bike...